Pamplin Media Group – Firefighters honored for their service

Reid Carlson earns Firefighter of the Year award for Jefferson County Fire District

 - Jefferson County Fire District No. 1 Lieutenant Andrew Glen, right, presented the Firefighter of the Year award to Reid Carlson, left.

Jefferson County Fire District No. 1 personnel celebrated their Annual Firefighter Banquet as a barbecue last Friday, June 11 at the fire station.

Volunteer Recruitment and Retention Officer and Deputy Chief Kasey Skaar said the banquet is designed to thank their responders from the previous year. Typically, they hold the banquet in March at Erickson Aircraft Collection.

“This year had to be pushed back once again because of COVID. Our goal next year is to have it back at that location,” Skaar said.

The awards included: service pins, recognizing longevity of personnel by five-year increments; training award, volunteer who had the most training hours in 2020; top three volunteer responders of each station, six total awards handed out for 2020; 2020 Rookie of the Year award; and 2020 Firefighter of the Year award. There was also an Appreciation Award for one student who is graduating the program and moving back home.

Those recognized include:

Firefighter of the Year:

Reid Carlson

Service Pins:

Firefighter John Brown: five years

Firefighter Zack Leeper: five years

Interim Chief Kasey Skaar: 15 years

Captain Tom Jaca: 25 years

Training Award:

Firefighter Ellis Kurzman

Response Awards 1701

1) Firefighter John Brown: 191 calls

2) Firefighter Andrew Flood: 169 calls

3) Lieutenant Heidi Hagman: 159 calls

Responses Awards 1702

1) Lieutenant Andrew Glen: 100 Calls

2) Lieutenant Aaron St. John: 96 Calls

3) Firefighter Zack Leeper: 61 Calls

Rookie of the Year:

Gabe Coleman

Two student interns graduated from Central Oregon Community College with associates degrees in fire science, Reid Carlson and Jermey Stinson. Stinson is going to continue in the program and work on his master’s degree.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));

jQuery(function($){ initTooltips(); $(“body”).on(“subform-row-add”, initTooltips); function initTooltips (event, container) { container = container || document;$(container).find(“.hasTooltip”).tooltip({“html”: true,”container”: “body”});} });
jQuery(window).on(‘load’, function() {
new JCaption(‘img.caption’);
JCEMediaBox.init({popup:{width:””,height:””,legacy:0,lightbox:0,shadowbox:0,resize:1,icons:1,overlay:1,overlayopacity:0.8,overlaycolor:”#000000″,fadespeed:500,scalespeed:500,hideobjects:0,scrolling:”fixed”,close:2,labels:{‘close’:’Close’,’next’:’Next’,’previous’:’Previous’,’cancel’:’Cancel’,’numbers’:'{$current} of {$total}’},cookie_expiry:””,google_viewer:0},tooltip:{className:”tooltip”,opacity:0.8,speed:150,position:”br”,offsets:{x: 16, y: 16}},base:”/”,imgpath:”plugins/system/jcemediabox/img”,theme:”shadow”,themecustom:””,themepath:”plugins/system/jcemediabox/themes”,mediafallback:0,mediaselector:”audio,video”});
if (window.MooTools !== undefined) {
hide: function() {
return this;
show: function(v) {
return this;
slide: function(v) {
return this;

(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-5342925-40’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

jQuery(document).ready(function($) {
$(‘.navigation-toggle-286’).sidr( {
name : ‘sidr-main’,
source : ‘#sidr-close, #gruemenu’,
side : ‘left’,
displace : false
} );
$(‘.sidr-class-toggle-sidr-close’).click( function() {
$.sidr( ‘close’, ‘sidr-main’ );
return false;
} );

wipeLeft: function($) {
// Close
$.sidr(‘close’, ‘sidr-main’);
wipeRight: function($) {
// Open
$.sidr(‘open’, ‘sidr-main’);
preventDefaultEvents: false

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));

Read More:Pamplin Media Group – Firefighters honored for their service