Elks Club awards; boot camp graduation; honor society inductees

Pictured are front row, from left, Stacy Foix, Gary Gilliam, Deborah Evans, Linda Singleton and Kathy Mullins. Back row, from left, Tim Lawrence, Matt Cairns, Nancy Edge, Tammy Swack and Joe Mike Foix.

Lubbock Elks installs new officers

The Lubbock Elks Lodge installed the new officers for the 2021-22 year. Outgoing President Shane Ross handed the gavel to incoming President Deborah Evans. Taking the Leading Knight chair is Linda Singleton, Loyal Knight is Gary Gilliam and Lecturing Knight is Stacy Foix. The secretary, Kathy Mullins, and treasurer, Nancy Edge, remained in their positions for another year.

Inner Guard is Tim Lawrence, Tiler is Tammy Swack. Incoming Five Year Trustee is Joe Mike Foix. Stepping into the role of Chaplain is Matt Cairns and Esquire is Michael Muniz.  

The Elks is a non-profit organization that support veterans, children with special needs and helping the Lubbock community. 

Shane Ross, Elks president, left, presents Matt Dawson with the Inspirational Man of the Year Award during a ceremony in April. Accompanying Dawson is his wife, Chanda.

Lubbock Elks present awards

Lubbock Elks Lodge President Shane Ross presented the awards for 2019 and 2020 at an awards celebration in April. The 2019 awards were not presented in 2020 due to coronavirus restrictions. 

The following awards were presented for 2019:

• Citizen of the Year: Cathy Jewell, who was instrumental in organizing and providing entertainment at joint events with the Elks and KSSL radio to benefit the South Plains Honor Flight and also other local charities.

• Officer of the Year: Lee Sandlin, trustee

• Elk of the Year: Steve Russell

• Lodge Sweetheart: Shanna Ross

• Volunteer of the Year: Jackie Tannery

2020 Award Recipients are:

• Citizen of the Year: Nicci Lyons, who stepped up to help the Lodge during the coronavirus shutdown by doing some much-needed deep cleaning and other jobs that were essential to making the reopening a success.

• Officer of the Year: Kathy Mullins

• Elk of the Year: Daniel Jones

• Lodge Sweetheart: Heather Wilson

A special award was presented to First Responder of the Year Cody Ross, who is a fireman. He was awarded for his dedication to serving the citizens of Lubbock, for always striving to increase his education and training to be the best fireman possible and mentor new members to the firefighting team.  

Read More:Elks Club awards; boot camp graduation; honor society inductees